Scream Without Making A Sound

Things have been unusually stressful around here this past week and I was truly having a difficult time handling it well.  Then last night I arrived at the gym early to get my pass for Zumba as usual.  I dropped my boys off at Child Watch and headed upstairs to wait in line, but found that I just could not sit still.  I was too upset about the day’s happenings.  So I left my things to hold my place and jumped on the treadmill that was about 3 feet away.  At first I just figured I’d walk.  Then as I was walking and thinking about the day I thought, “I want to run!”  So I sped up the machine to a brisk run, but that wasn’t good enough.  I wanted to sprint!  I wanted to run as hard as I could for as long as I could.  So I did.  It didn’t last very long at all.  Maybe an 8 speed for about 1 minute then back down to 4.7 or so.  But as soon as I caught my breath I wanted to do it again.  So I did.  This time I only lasted about 30 seconds.  But that wasn’t the point.  I’d forgotten how amazingly good it felt to run when you’re angry!

Maybe it’s just me.  I know other people who punch punching bags.  For me, though, few things compare to just hauling butt as fast and as long as I can until I can’t do it anymore.  Now, yesterday I knew I still had to get through Zumba class so I held back from doing more sprints, but it was still such a gratifying feeling.  There’s something so freeing about running like that.  No goals.  No worries about form or endurance.  Just running.  Running hard.  Running with all you’ve got.  It’s sorta like screaming, but without making a sound.

The next time you’re angry you might give it a try.  And when you’re done, finish it off by blasting a great dance song in the car on your way home and practicing your seated dance moves.*  😀

(Disclaimer:  Seat dance at your own risk. Keep both hands on the wheel and your eyes on the road or you may find you’ve created more stress than you had before!)

About heartmama

Hello, my name is Kathleen. My husband Luke and I were married in 2001 and we have 3 wonderful bio-sons: Ethan, born Oct. 2005, Quintin, born Feb. 2008, and Liam born June, 2010. We are looking forward to the day when our daughter(s) will join our family.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

