A Moment’s Peace

It’s 1 o’clock in the morning and I should be sleeping.  But I’m not.  I’m sitting at the computer listening to the clock tick and the soft breathing of my baby’s sleep. It’s quiet.  As a mother of 3 boys it’s so rare to experience near silence. I’m loathe to surrender to the sleep I truly need, because I can’t imagine not cherishing these few precious moments. Moments when I can think clearly. Moments without interruption. Even the gentle hum of the computer’s fan – a sound I rarely notice amidst the din of daily life – is like a gentle melody to me now.  So soft and quiet.  The lights are low and everyone sleeps but me.  I close my eyes and simply relish the quiet, the restfulness of the moment.  I consider taking a bath but the loud rush of water filling the tub would disturb the peace that floats like a thick fog in each room of the house.  I think to read a book, but reluctantly dismiss the idea as irresponsible.  It is late and the children will arise at their usual hour, blissfully ignorant of the sleep I sacrificed for just a few moments of quiet.  A few moments of peace.  With a sigh I rise and quietly move through my nightly routine, then take myself to bed.  As I lie with my head on the pillow I pause once more, staring into the darkness, listening to the quiet of the night.  I tell myself to drink it in.  To remember this feeling.  Then I close my eyes and accept the coming of a new day.

About heartmama

Hello, my name is Kathleen. My husband Luke and I were married in 2001 and we have 3 wonderful bio-sons: Ethan, born Oct. 2005, Quintin, born Feb. 2008, and Liam born June, 2010. We are looking forward to the day when our daughter(s) will join our family.
This entry was posted in Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

